Board of Trustees

2020 Board of Trustees Meeting Schedule  

Next Regular Board Meeting will be held remotely Wednesday, September 23, 2020 

2020 Combined Board & Committee Meeting Schedules

Public comments will be taken via email at or you can sign up to speak prior to the start of the meeting by emailing Deadline to sign up will be 5:00 p.m. prior to the start of Regular Board Meetings, further details will be sent to each respondent.

The Timberland Regional Library Board of Trustees (the “Board”) meets monthly on the fourth Wednesday of each month. If the meeting date interferes with holidays or conferences, the meeting is held on the third or fifth Wednesday. 

Board meetings start at 5:30 p.m. and are held at either the Administrative Service Center (415 Tumwater Blvd. SW, Tumwater, WA 98501) or at one of our community libraries. The annual meeting is in December.

TRL Board meetings are open to the public and are noticed and held in accordance with Washington’s Open Public Meetings Act (RCW 42.30). For more information, see the Municipal Research and Services Center of Washington's information about the Open Public Meetings Act.

See video recordings and view documents from TRL monthly Board meetings since January 2012.

AV Capture All

During the Emergency Closure for COVID-19, meetings are held via Zoom (link is posted 24 hours in advance on the agenda at AV Capture All) and take longer to upload recordings to AV Capture All. 

As of February 22, 2016, documentation associated with current Timberland Regional Library Board Meetings has been moved to AV Capture All

The seven-member Board is appointed by County commissioners of the five counties in TRL's district, with a trustee from each county and two additional trustees filling at-large positions.

Hal Blanton
Hal Blanton
Member-at-Large | Lewis County

Term expires: 12/2025
Email Hal Blanton


Bob Hall
Bob Hall
2020 President-Elect | Pacific County

Term expires: 12/2021
Email Bob Hall


Brenda Hirschi
Brenda Hirschi
2020 President | Mason County

Term expires: 12/2024
Email Brenda Hirschi


Corby Varness
Corby Varness
Grays Harbor County Representative

Term expires: 12/2020
Email Corby Varness

Kathy Varney
Kathy Varney
Thurston County Representative

Term expires:12/2023
Email Kathy Varney

Brian Zylstra
Brian Zylstra
Lewis County Representative

Term expires: 12/2022
Email Brian Zylstra


Board Meeting Minutes Archive

The TRL Board of Trustees Manual (A History of Timberland Regional Library)

Board of Trustees Bylaws (Approved March 25, 2020)

History of the Capital Facilities Proposal (DISSOLVED 11/28/2018)

Attached files may require additional software to open, such as Adobe Acrobat or other PDF readers.